Historic Preservation Commission

Sheridan County Historic Preservation Plan – April 2022

The Sheridan County Historic Preservation commission enhances and protects Sheridan County’s cultural heritage and preserves the natural environments by partnering with citizens, agencies and organizations to identify, evaluate, protect, educate and encourage stewardship of the county’s cultural resources, while adhering to local, state and federal regulations and policies.

This board is reestablished as of July 2019

(certified local government for county entities) 7 – member board, 2 of whom must be professional in historic or related fields.  Advisory members may be invited to serve for a specified time to lend their expertise in an activity, but may not vote in conduct of business.  County members are appointed to achieve a geographic balance with the County.  Commission established and given Certified Local Government status by National Park Service, which enables application for matching grants and functions as liaison to WY State Historic Preservation Office functions.  Commission submits nominees to BOCC for appointment.

Board Information

Subject: Data:
Board Name Historic Preservation Commission
Term of Board Members Three years
Number of Board Members Seven
Main contact phone number for Board To Be Determined
Main contact email address for Board Email Historic Preservation Commission
Meeting Schedule 2nd Wednesday of July, October, January and April or as called by the Chair
Meeting Location Sheridan County Courthouse Room PMR 210 unless otherwise posted

Board Members

Donald Fisk 07/2019 07/2022 1st Sheridan County
Kristin Campbell 07/2019 07/2022 Chair 1st Sheridan County
Christine Varah 07/2019 07/2023 Treasurer 1st Sheridan County
Katie Curtiss 07/2019 07/2023 Secretary 1st Sheridan County
OPEN 07/2022 1st Sheridan County
Christina Haworth 07/2021 07/2024 1st Sheridan County
Carrie Edinger 08/2020 07/2024 Vice-Chair 1st Sheridan County

The Sheridan County Historic Preservation Commission is one of over 1,000 Certified Local Governments nationwide working to enhance local preservation efforts. The Commission was established by County Resolution on May 4, 1993 and executed by Sheridan County, the City of Sheridan and the Towns of Clearmont, Dayton and Ranchester. The benefit of being a CLG is the ability to apply for matching grants for projects, education and training in preservation. The Commission also reviews nominations to the National Register of Historic Places.


  1. Promote public awareness of historic preservation within the county;
  2. Develop and encourage partnerships to improve communication with other groups that are influential in promoting historic preservation; and,
  3. Create new or update current plans so that the most effective preservation tools are available.