Fire Protection Districts

In case of Emergency DIAL 911



Financial Assistance Available for Story Residents Suffering Tree Damage From Wind Event on November 16, 2021

The Sheridan County Commissioners have rescinded Resolution 21-06-011 which lifts the Partial Fire Restrictions imposed on June 21, 2021.  Effective immediately open burning will be allowed in Sheridan County.

The public is urged to be very cautious with any open burning in the County.  Grass and other light fuels can dry quickly if the weather warms up or the winds blows, making for high fire danger.

  • Prior to any planned burning prior please;
    • Notify the Dispatch Center at 307-672-2413 so the fire department doesn’t show up uninvited;
    • Check the weather forecast for warnings and if increased winds are predicted, avoid burning prior and during that time;
    • Have fire tools, water, and a phone readily available; and

Do not delay calling for help if your burn gets out of hand, as early response can minimize control efforts and potential damage.

Story Wildfire Mitigation Plan Videos

Wildfire Awareness Newsletter

Red Grade and Story Fuels Reduction and Outreach Project

This newsletter is produced as part of the Red Grade Fuels Reduction and Outreach Project, but contains useful information for residents throughout Sheridan County

Rural Fire Departments

Big Horn Fire Department

Alan Telck, Chief
PO Box 501
Big Horn, WY 82833

Clearmont Fire District

Arty Thomas, Chief
PO Box 126
Clearmont, WY 82835

Dayton Fire Department

Rick Bilodeau, Chief
PO Box 430
Dayton, WY 82836

Goose Valley Fire Department (Sheridan Area Rural Fire Protection District)

Alan Trumbull, Interim Chief


PO Box 641
Sheridan, WY 82801

Story Fire Department

Heather Watt, Chief

PO Box 4
Story, WY 82842
Work: 406-581-1129

Ranchester Fire Department (Tongue River Fire Protection District)

Donnie Dobrenz, Chief

Ranchester, WY 82839

Rural Fire Districts

Big Horn Fire District

Lonnie Wright, Chair

DJ Purcell, Treasurer
PO Box 501
Big Horn, WY 82833

Clearmont Fire District




Josh McKinley (2022)           BOARD MEMB.

Paul Foster (2022)           BOARD MEMB.

PO Box 126
Clearmont, WY 82835

Dayton Fire Protection District

Emerson Scott, Chair, acting Treasurer

Dave Munsick, Member

Marty Masters, Secretary

PO Box 112
Dayton, WY 82836

Sheridan Area Rural Fire Protection District

Tim Thomas, Chair

Craig Achord, Secretary

Pete Husman, Treasurer

PO Box 641
Sheridan, WY 82801

Story Fire District

Mike Onstott, Chair
Don Eady
Steve Weast

PO Box 4
Story, WY 82842
Work: 307-763-9607

Tongue River Fire Protection District

Ray Baker, Chair

James E. Hallworth, Sr., Treasurer

PO Box 307
Ranchester, WY 82839


Fireworks Resolution 18-05-017

Adoption of Rules & Regulations Governing the Sale & Use of Fireworks

Section 4(b):

4(b)        The use of fireworks in the unincorporated areas of Sheridan County is authorized only on the following dates each year, except as specifically prohibited in Subsection (c) of this Section:

(i)            Memorial Day Weekend (Friday through Monday);

(ii)           Flag Day (June 14);

(iii)          July 1 – 7; and

(iv)         New Year’s (December 31 and January 1).

(c)           The use of fireworks is prohibited:

(i)            Within fifty (50) feet of any occupied structure;

(ii)           On county and other public roads and highways;

(iii)          On all lands or easements owned by Sheridan County and its agencies and departments; and

(iv)         Between the hours of 11:30 pm and 6:00 am, provided that the prohibition of this Paragraph shall not apply between 11:30 pm on December 31 and 2:00 am on January 1.

Fireworks Permits

Permit for supervised public displays of fireworks approved by the local Fire Chief and the Sheridan Board of County Commissioners: Fireworks Permit (Revised January 2019)

Please allow 3-4 weeks for the processing of your Fireworks Permit.

In case of Emergency DIAL 911