SAWS (Sheridan Area Water Supply)

Sheridan Area Water Supply – Joint Powers Board (SAWS-JPB) is the rural water system surrounding the City of Sheridan. In the Public Works office, we take applications to connect to the water system, prepare water service agreements with developers, and administer board business such as monthly meetings, budget and finances, and contracts with consultants and contractors. We maintain records, do future planning, and coordinate with the City of Sheridan for billing and maintenance of the water system.


The objective of the SAWS-JPB is to supply rural water customers and the City of Sheridan with potable water. By agreement with the Sheridan County Commissioners, the Sheridan County Public Works Director acts as Administrator for the SAWS-JPB. Also by agreement with the City Council of Sheridan, the physical system of reservoirs, intakes, treatment plants, water storage tanks, pumping stations, transmission mains, distribution mains and meters are operated and maintained by the City of Sheridan’s Utility Department. By the same agreement, the City of Sheridan Billing and Collection Departments bill the SAWS-JPB customers,  and collect and deposit the revenues to the SAWS-JPB operating account. SAWS-JPB pays the City and County for their services.

Forms and more Information


The Sheridan Area Water Supply Joint Powers Board approved their 2018 meeting schedule, as follows:

January 17, 2018 at 5:00 p.m.

May 9, 2018 at 5:00 p.m.

July 11, 2018 at Noon.

October 10, 2018 at 5:00 p.m.


Meetings will be held in the Commissioner’s Board Room #220, on the second floor of the Courthouse, 224 S. Main Street, Sheridan, WY.  Special meetings may be called at the request of the Chair or majority of the Board, at which point a public notice will be published

Click here to view the upcoming SAWSJPB Meeting Agenda. View minutes of previous meetings on the SAWS-JPB Minutes page.

Office Location

SAWS Joint Powers Board
Sheridan County Courthouse
224 S. Main Street, Suite 428
Sheridan, WY 82801
Ph: (307) 674-2920


The Board is comprised of County and City officials

Title Member Term Expires
County Commissioner Tom Ringley 1/2021
County Commissioner Steve Maier 1/2020
County Commissioner Bob Rolston 1/2019
City Council Member Patrick Henderson 1/2019
City Council Member Richard Bridger 1/2021
Mayor Roger Miller 1/2020